Deworming for tapeworm-question

Jan 25, 2020
Manitoba, Canada
Hi all
I dewormed my flock with SafeGuard 5 days in a row, after finding tapeworm segments in a poop. I was not aware, but found out later, that using fenbendazole during molt can lead to feather damage. One or two hens are dropping a lot of feathers. 😬
I still have round two to give, to catch the hatching worm eggs.
Is it ok to give Valbazen for round two?

Thank you for any help.

Hi all
I dewormed my flock with SafeGuard 5 days in a row, after finding tapeworm segments in a poop. I was not aware, but found out later, that using fenbendazole during molt can lead to feather damage. One or two hens are dropping a lot of feathers. 😬
I still have round two to give, to catch the hatching worm eggs.
Is it ok to give Valbazen for round two?

Thank you for any help.
I'm not a worm expert, but I'd refer to this thread/post:

https://www.backyardchickens.com/threads/worming-with-safeguard-goat-wormer.1105160/post-17002911

Thanks for the responses.
After a lot of combing through BYC threads, I decided to go with Valbazen for round two and take my chances that I may have to repeat if it doesn’t work. I have invested enough in dewormers and never needed them, so now is my first time, and it doesn’t make sense to me to spend yet another fortune on something different.
I do my own fecals, and up until now, the chickens have not needed deworming. Since it is the first time, I hope the tapeworms will be effectively killed off. I think the SafeGuard already worked too, since I never saw any more segments after the initial find.

Maybe @dawg53 , could you help me with dosing Valbazen? I read it is 0.5ml for standard size chickens. I think my chickens range from 5 to 10 pounds.
Thank you

The tapeworm came back now that it is spring.
I will heed your advice now @dawg53 and get a praziquantel containing dewormer.