Dilemma- Can you help me solve it?

kkattt

Chirping
8 Years
Jul 9, 2011
Massachusetts
Okay.. My eggs went in the incubator on April 25th- at 9 a.m. I am a teacher who is unable to get into the building on the weekends... Would it be too early to begin lock down on Friday the 11th at 4pm? Day 17? I am a little stressed about this-- I am trying to find a way to come in on Saturday... What do you think?

You started them on Wednesday the 25th of April. Lockdown should be Sunday May 13 with hatch Wednesday May 16.

Do you have any history with this incubator? Does it normally hatch early or late? The average incubating temperature affects when they actually hatch. If it is warm, they can hatch two or more days early, If it is a little cool, they can be that much late.

There are different reasons to quit turning and raise the humidity, but the really big need is to get the humidity up before they pip. If you have history with the incubator and are pretty sure they will pip and hatch a little late, you can probably wait. If you know they have hatched early before, you should not wait at all. If you have no history at all with that incubator, that makes it hard.

Coming in on the weekend would obviously be the best. If you can't do that, I'd probably raise the humidity and go into lockdown as late Friday as you can manage. I don't know that there is a right call for this one.

If you lockdown early, you have a real chance of the incubator water reservoirs running dry before the hatch is over. I don't know what type of incubator you have, but I add water to my incubator during lockdown by putting sone straws with those accordian joints together so I can go in through a vent hole to get to the water reservoirs. I use a syringe to put the water in the straw.

This is my first time hatching.. EVER =) I just want to be sure I do everything right. Would locking down late Friday be okay humidity wise? Meaning-- If I increase the humidity so much so early-- will it be okay?