Do you eat your own chickens rare?

honeydoll

Songster
10 Years
Jul 14, 2009
Stark County, NE Ohio
I have been doing some recent studies on health and nutrition, I may be going to college for a degree in this. I came across some info. I have been looking into more. I read if you raise your own meat, it is healthier for you to eat it rare. They say that how you feed and raise your animals, on a natural diet, is the imperative thing to making it safe to eat. As I study this, I was wondering if anyone other than the sources I studied has done this. It sounds so gross to me, because chickens rare, just yuck in my book. I was curious, have any of you tried this or do this? I know for really tasty wood duck, in the "old days" they would eat it rare. It is very good that way I hear.

Not that I'm going to try this. Just curious.

Carolyn

I would not be one bit afraid to eat my pastured poultry somewhat rare. I am confident that they are salmonela and campylobacter free due to the way they are fed and housed. I think the big "yuck" factor people encounter when they think about eating poultry rare comes from the "chicken police" people saying it is so dangerous. The vast majority of Americans don't have the opportunity to dine on the quality of chicken that we BYCers raise, and because of this, are forced to cook their chicken to the point of being dry and tasteless. That being said, it is imperative they do this because of the risk of food borne illnesses. Here is a perfect example for this action:
http://www.consumerreports.org/cro/...chicken-safety/overview/chicken-safety-ov.htm
I check this report every year, and it is always the same story. Per this report is the proof that free range and/or organic chciken is much safer, and it is highly because of how they are raised. Processing does play a part, but the living conditions dictate the presence or the lack of bacteria.