Do you wash fresh eggs? Refrigerate or no?

Madame Cluck

In the Brooder
7 Years
May 24, 2012
I am doing a victory dance, because we found two little eggs in our hen house tonight. I wasn't expecting eggs yet, as our chicks are only 15 weeks old, and I expected a longer wait. Anyway, now what? Do I wash them before refrigerating? Leave them on the counter? I'm a novice and not sure what is best. We do have a rooster, so if they are fertilized, should I do something different? Also, the hens layed the eggs on the floor of the coop under the perches instead of in the nesting box. How do I train them to lay in the nesting box or does it really matter? Any advice is appreciated.

Some folks prefer not to wash eggs. They just sit them in a basket, where they keep just fine and might wash them just before using them

We prefer to wash and refrigerate, as our customers take 90% of our eggs and they are fussy. They pay the bills, so they get what they want. If you do decide to wash and refrigerate, and in this 100F weather, it isn't a bad idea, do follow the egg handling guidelines published by most Ag departments.

Wash (hand rub) in as hot of water as you can take. Allow to air dry a bit, and finish with paper towel. Stick in the frig. Never wash under cold water.
Some folks do a quick dip in a sanitizer as part of the wash. In no case, do you allow eggs to sit in water or solution for more than just a little bit, 30 seconds tops.