does young crowing cockerel = obnoxious crowing roo?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by technodoll, Oct 22, 2011.

1. technodoll

technodoll Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 25, 2009
    Quebec, Canada
    Curious to hear your reports on this...

If a cockerel starts crowing at a very young age (a few weeks old), does that mean he will end up being an obnoxious always-crowing rooster when older?

And if a cockerel starts crowing late in life (5+ months...), does that mean he will be less inclined to be a loud-mouth when mature?

Or is there no corrolation at all and it's just down to the individual rooster & place on the totem pole?

[​IMG]

2. Schrebergaertner

Schrebergaertner Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 13, 2010
    I'm no expert, but we've raised two roos. The first one started crowing late. Our new one started at 6-7 weeks. As adults, they ended up with just about the same crowing habits. I had the same question a few months back when our young one started crowing and posted in an old thread with lots of good info on the topic:

https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=276743

3. gale65

gale65 Chillin' With My Peeps

Our roo started crowing at about 12 weeks, and he crows ALL THE TIME now. Luckily we don't have any neighbors.

4. mommissan

mommissan Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 4, 2011
    Adirondacks
    My roo was mute for 20 weeks then all of a sudden he was crowing, first softly, then uncontrollably, all day long! Totally unpredictable!

5. TomGallopavo

TomGallopavo Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2011
    Hillbillyville, MO
    I like crowing. We picked Jimbo because of it and most importantly, his demeanor. I suppose if you have neighbors nearby (we don't) they might consider it "obnoxious".

[​IMG]

JIMBO

6. dainerra

dainerra Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2011
    nah, I doubt it would really make any difference because roos crow for so many different reasons. How old is he starting crowing?

7. stilldeb