Dogs took care of business...

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by vclark321, Jul 31, 2011.

1. vclark321

vclark321 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2011
    Bonney Lake
    Greetings to all! I am fairly new to this chicken thing, but I did my research prior to getting started. I know of several predators in my area such as eagles, hawks, and raccoons. I have also seen a rat on the fence because of the wild bird seed. I do not put any type of feed in my chicken tractor to entice anyone and it closes completely for safety. The other night my dogs had a rat trapped under the dog house. 1 day later I came home to find what was left of said rat in the yard, a little fur and the bones of the hind leg.

I have a Neopolitan Mastiff and a Yorkshire Terrier and while I am home 3 silly chickens running around the yard. The dogs and chickens get along, but I am always alert for change. My Yorkie is on the job and at 11 years old still a force to be reckoned with. Crazy thing he is! When he was younger he attacked a reccoon on our front porch. I know it could have been very ugly as he is only 4 pounds. I don't know who was more shocked, me or the raccoon! I am glad this rat is gone!

2. chickschool

chickschool Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 5, 2011
    Traverse City, MI
    A Mastiff and a Yorkie? [​IMG]

Dogs rock! I love how my dogs keep our yard free of unwanted critters. I was a little worried about the dogs and chicks at first too but now I don't have a problem leaving the chickens out when I'm gone because I know the dogs will "take care of business". Have fun and be careful because chickens are addictive. [​IMG]

3. busyteacher

busyteacher Out Of The Brooder

Jul 31, 2011
    A Yorkie taking on a raccoon is not something your normally hear of! We have a bird dog who will bring us the chickens if they get out. She is trained not to kill them but I think she definitely scares them when she picks them up.

4. annep

annep Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 4, 2011