Duck Hatching Chicken Eggs

Violinturtle

Hatching
5 Years
May 11, 2014
One of my ducks decided to go broody on some chicken eggs that were in a nest. I decided to leave her and see what happened. I have never given any of my birds an opportunity to try and hatch out any chicks, so I'm fairly new to it all. They are brown eggs so they naturally look a bit darker, but I am not entirely sure what I should be looking for. Is the duck providing the right conditions for the chicken eggs to hatch properly? Any input and tips on anything about hatching would be great! These are some pics of some of the eggs. There are 7 eggs in the nest. They should be anywhere from 12-14 days developed; is this how they should be looking? Sorry for the terrible candling pics; I only have a flashlight, no real candling stuff.

Egg #1

Egg #2

Egg #3

Great!!! Just make sure when they hatch mommy doesn't take them to open water.... keep them safe from that thing with a momma duck... so excited for you..... I think there are chicks developing inside.... don't worry the incubation conditions between ducks and chickens are close... but higher humidity with ducks... even better.... good lucl and keep us posted! !

Looks good to me too. Last year one of my hens hatched 3 ducklings. It was absolutely adorable but boy was she freaked out the first time they went for a swim. I thought she was going to have a stroke! The only problem I've ever heard of was was the Mama duck accidently leading the chicks to water. Good luck;)