Duck walking funny

JD123

Chirping
Apr 30, 2014
hello all, hoping for some help, I am new to ducks. Yesterday I noticed my duck walking funny. His head sways from side to side and he has poor balance. I am attaching a video through YouTube, hopefully it works. Any insight would be great!
Thank you!

Hi, Im quite new to ducks as well, had them for a little over a year now and hatching more, But i have had chickens for my entire life and to me it looks like your duck may have bumble foot. Look under the duck's foot and if you see something that looks kida like a wart or a really hard bump it may be bumble foot. in which case i have delt with for years, Heres a link to a really helpful site that will http://www.fresheggsdaily.com/2012/03/bumblefoot.html . Now if its not bumble foot my guess is that it could of sprained it's self seeing how Pekin are large birds, I hope this was somewhat helpful

It looks like his legs are further apart then they should be. I think he moves his head back and forth to stay balanced. Ducks do that while running; it's just more pronounced with your duck. It could be a genetic thing or a sign that his diet was niacin deficient.

Thank you. I checked for bumble foot but his feet appear fine and there is no swelling in the legs but a sprain could be up where the leg meets the body. As far as niacin, they all eat the same diet... chicken feed, koi food which contains niacin and they free range. I would think if it was a niacin issue it would effect all of them. I have had them since they were a week old, they are now a little over 2 months old. The funny walk just started yesterday. I am hoping in the just a sprain.