1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

duck with swelling beneath her vent

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by rvwhite, Oct 16, 2013.

1. rvwhite

rvwhite Out Of The Brooder

Oct 16, 2013
    I have a Pekin duck that is 7 months old. She has a swelling underneath her vent. the swelling is hard, pinkish i. color and doesn't have any discharge. I've attached a picture. she hasn't been laying for a few days now and use to lay daily. she is acting normal otherwise: eating regular,normal energy level, still having bowel movements, still swims in her pool, plays with the dogs, etc. I would really love any suggestions or advice about what this could and how to treat it. This is my first time owning ducks so all of it is new to me.

2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    Could it be a prolapse? is this sticking out of her vent? Something happened to the pic.

3. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    Sounds like eggbound, and prolapsed. I would get her to a vet.

In the meantime, get her into a lukewarm tub deep enough to float in. When she gets out, apply some preparation H to the skin.

Be careful - if it is an egg, you don't want to crush the shell.

4. rvwhite

Oct 16, 2013
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Sorry about the pictures, but here they are. The swelling is about half a centimeter thick and it doesn't seem to hurt her when I touch it. You can see on the second picture that it has a yellowish tint and black spot in the middle of it. I felt around her abdomen last night after she soaked in a warm bath and it didn't seem inflamed or warm to the touch. Any thoughts? I really appreciate the advice.

Last edited: Oct 17, 2013
  5. Miss Lydia

Oct 3, 2009