E-Z WAYS TO CLEAN COOPS

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by chickenchic2, Feb 8, 2012.

1. chickenchic2

chickenchic2 New Egg

Feb 8, 2012
    Welcome. I have 10 red Sex Link Hens since October yarded in a barn with a 10 by 30 foot outside run. We love our girls, but geez are they mesy! I want to take the wooden ramp out This is the hardest to clean, even daily. They are not near a water source.
    It is brought to them daily for drinking. Pressure washing it is not an option in winter.
    Also on top of their nesting boxes they like to dirty. I have to scrape it every day, at times it hardens and is difficult to remove. This does prevent them from messing inside their nesting boxes. ANy input would be great. Thanks.

2. crystal195655

crystal195655 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 15, 2011
    Glenoma, WA
    I am not very experienced with chickens yet, but I was wondering...you said they poo on top of the nesting boxes? Do you have a slanted roof on it? if not you might want to put a slanted roof that would make it difficult for them to stay on it...or put something on it that would discourage them from getting back up there.....as for cleaning, I am sure you will be getting lots of good advice from experienced chicken keepers on here and I willbe watching closly so that I can gain some insight from your post...thanks and good luck

3. Geckochick

Geckochick Out Of The Brooder

Jul 16, 2011