Easiest way to mark eggs from hens?

My2butterflies

Crowing
Apr 14, 2020
Minnesota
What is the best method to collect eggs from select hens?

I have a variety of hens but only want to collect eggs from my Turkens, 3 out of 4 EEs, and slw.
Nearly all my breeds are brown layers so I can’t tell the eggs apart. And one EE has a deformed scull so I don’t want to hatch her eggs.

Ive heard of using food coloring and lipstick. Are these reliable? When do you put it on to make sure it marks the egg?

Perhaps there are some methods that others know of - but I would imagine the only foolproof way to guarantee to you collect from your desired selection of hens is:

To only have those hens in the pen. If there is only *one* hen you do not want to hatch from can you remove her from the pen for the collection period??

I think I have heard that you can rub a bit of food coloring inside the vent, and then when they lay the egg the coloring will smear on the shell? I am not a pro so someone correct me if it is a bad idea.
I understand the intention of how that should work - in theory.

But then you get into the question of whether its really advisable to put things where things don't normally go!

Plus.. I wonder about the possibility of the food coloring will be expelled with pooping and running out before the egg is laid - risking an unmarked egg??

Have to admit though - I'm curious to see if anyone has actually used the method and how well it worked.

Perhaps there are some methods that others know of - but I would imagine the only foolproof way to guarantee to you collect from your desired selection of hens is:

To only have those hens in the pen. If there is only *one* hen you do not want to hatch from can you remove her from the pen for the collection period??
I have 11 other hens I don’t want to collect from.