Educated gender guesses?

jamie158

Hatching
5 Years
May 8, 2014
Portland Oregon
Hello BYC people!
I'm totally new to the chicken world, but I'm loving it so much thus far!
I'm wondering if any of you could give me any educated guesses on whether or not I've ended up with any boys in my first little flock.

I have 1 Australorp, 1 Orpington, 1 Dominique, and 1 Welsummer. They are supposedly turning 4 weeks in 2 days. I realize that this is still very early, but I've been obsessively worrying that I might have to give 1... or more up, so any peace of mind is appreciated.

Here are my (hopefully) girls:

Opal the Orpington. She's definitely the sweetest. *please be a little lady!*

Ruby the Welsummer. She's the most timid.

Emma the Australorp. She's a little spitfire. She's growing & feathering out much slower than the rest, which has me worried. She was always smaller than the others, but she didn't seem to grow much at all for a long time. She's still behind the rest in feathering out.

Lilly the Dominique. She's also pretty calm and sweet. She seems to be growing the fastest.

Again, I know it's early and these probably aren't the best pictures... but any guesses are appreciated.

Thank you tons!

barnie.gif

I have to post one more picture of her now...

I've heard that Welsummer's are pretty easy to sex based on coloring. I'm going to have to do a lot more reading up on this.
Thank you so much for your responses.

I'm not sure about them, but for now I am going with pullet for the Welsummer because I'm not seeing any dark or black feathers on her breast, and the comb is also still yellow. I would say pullet for the Australorp. These are just guesses, in a few weeks you should be able to tell. :D

Last edited: