EGGS ARE HATCHING--3 fuzzybutts-Hatch Ended

Buttercup Chillin

Songster
11 Years
Oct 27, 2008
SouthEast TX
Ok, I'm New to Duckies, Muscovies actually. We have an Unheated Aviary Tarped Duck House. Momma and Auntie started a Large Clutch and day 35 is Thursday. Noticed today that 2 eggs have slight cracks starting and Mom and Auntie both bathed today. For the past 2 weeks they have alternated days of bathing. It will again freeze tonight so I put up a Blue 85 watt Flood Light for light and a bit of warmth to help them stay warm for the duckings if they start hatching.

Do you think the low light and wattage is necessary? I think they are getting ready to settle in for a few days. Mr Drake is nervous like a Daddy about to be, he couldn't decide if he was roosting inside or staying out in the run... He's in.

I really want them to take care of all those little ones. I really don't want to bring the Ducklings in the house if Mom/Auntie will take care of them outside. But, we are to have at least the next 3 nights of freezing with 40's day time, hopefully. (We are just north of Houston). Imagine that Mommy decided to have her first cluch due on the coldest days of the past 19 years.

Last edited:
I think you are wonderful to add the extra light. but once they are born they will work their way back under the mommy and Aunt to keep warm...but better safe than sorry. I wish more ppl. were that considerate.

Hahaha....i had no idea that mommy and auntie were the ducks' names, I thought you were actually talking about your mom and aunt....and when you said "Mom and Auntie both bathed today" I was like, okay thats weird...

Be sure to keep a close eye on them when the babies start to hatch. I have a friend with Muscovies and she has had her ducks fight over the babies (they ended up killing them
sad.png
) & It would totally suck if the both left the nest(s?) before they were all hatched.

good luck & please post pics!
fl.gif