Experienced Northern Muscovy Keepers - I need help!

cchase25

In the Brooder
8 Years
Mar 27, 2011
Oconomowoc, WI
This is my first year with Muscovies and I love them! I have 6 - 2 male and 4 female. (also have 3 chickens)

Anyhow I live in WI and I need some advice for how to winter them over safely. Up until now I have been putting them in the chicken coop at night. But now they can fly and 2 have started sleeping way up in an oak tree. The other 3 are staying on the ground but can fly. I don't want to let them stay in the coop at night anymore because they are so messy and the sleep in the nesting boxes. (But they haven't started laying yet.) So to my question, can I let them free range in the yard now that they can fly up away from predators? How will they keep warm in winter? Should I build a shelter they can go into at night? But then a predator could get them because they could be trapped in there. I can build a duck house and lock them up at night but leave the ones in the trees as there is no getting them back in once they go up to roost there. I have lots of sheltered spots in the yard and woods that they like to hang out in, but once the ground is covered in snow what do they like to do? Need some help from a good book or experienced Northern Muscovy keeper. Thoughts? Advice?? Thanks, Carol

Last edited:
Flying won't keep them safe from predators
You can clip the flight feathers on one wing to keep them grounded. Can you lock them in another area from the coop?
Their caruncles can get frostbitten and so can their feet if not protected from the cold. I don't mean a heated hut, but they do need protection from wind and ice and snow.