"Fed up" with feed & feeders - What do you feed your laying hens, and what style feeder do you like?

Fluster Cluck Acres

Crowing
Premium Feather Member
Mar 26, 2020
Frederick, MD
Hi all,

Not to be punny, but I'm fed up with my chicken feed. I'm still a chicken newbie, had my flock of 5 laying hens for less than 2 years. I feed Dumor 16% Layer crumbles. It's reasonably priced, recommended by the girl who worked at TSC, and had decent reviews. But this feed seems to suck in every ounce of moisture it can find. I store the feed in an airtight container in the my garage, and it seems to be fine while it's in there. But keeping the feed from "gumming up" in my feeder is a struggle. I feed the girls daily, and try to only feed them about as much as they'll consume that day.