fertilizers and pesticides on lawn

rebeccaj

Hatching
9 Years
Apr 24, 2010
hi! i'm new to raising chickens and really excited about it. i just got 3 hens of egg-laying age.

but unfortunately my dad applied synthetic fertilizer (those turf builder pellet things) and pesticide all over the lawn yesterday (even though i told him not to. grrrrr).

how long do i have to wait to let the chickens roam free on the lawn and eat the grass and weeds? what happens to the chemicals in the fertilizer pellets? are they absorbed by the grass, but also remain in the soil? how long do the chemicals stay in the soil? even if the fertilizer pellets have all been absorbed by the grass and soil, is it still bad for the chickens to eat the grass that absorbed the fertilizer chemicals? i mean are those chemicals in the grass? so i guess i would have to wait a couple of years for the fertilizer to be completely gone from the grass and soil? if i don't want to wait years for the chemicals to disappear, should i get rid of all the grass, add new soil over the existing soil, and sow new grass?

thanks!

Not sure about how long the fertilizer takes to absorb into the grass. Maybe check the label on the fertilizer to see what it says. I wouldn't worry too much about the chickens eating the grass once the fertilizer is absorbed. I would however be concerned about the chickens eating the fertilizer pellets themselves. At least wait until you don't see any sign of the fertilizer pellets in the grass before considering letting them graze. I'm no expert on this, so please check the label and also see what other people post on this topic.

RebeccaJ, find out from your dad if the lawn fertilizer also has an herbicide in it to kill weeds.

Livestock often find herbicide-treated weeds to taste better than they did before. So, the critters are eating the dying plants. This not only cycles the herbicide thru the animal but also encourages the animal to eat something it may not normally eat.