First baby chick hatched!

Brie6895

Songster
6 Years
May 13, 2013
Magnolia Springs, AL
Hey everyone! I have a couple questions about my first baby chick who hatched to my surprise naturally yesterday. I was not planning on hatching any baby's but this little one hatched out of no where. Excuse me if I ramble I and just beyond excited. So thank you anyone who gets to my questions! Lol!

Luckily I have two coops side by side. By sweet DH built one of my sick chickens its own little 2x4 coop and 4x8 run connecting to my main coop and run awhile back. Unfortunely my sick chicken passed. Anyways he decided we should seperate the mother and baby from the other because the single little chick was getting a lot of attention from the other hens and momma wasn't too happy. So he set them up in the smaller coop and run :) this is my first time with a momma and baby so I'm not sure what I need to do.

It was a challenge to get her close enough to even move her to the other coop but now she seems to be much less stressed. I love to go down there and watch them its the cutest thing I've ever seen. But I really want to hold the baby! Do you think if I tried to pick it up the mother wold attack? I thought about just laying a towel down in the run and just sitting still for about 30 min and let them walk over me. But in not sure if the hen will try to challange me. She's never been aggressive towards me but she's never been one that loved to be picked up.

My other question is if I got another baby so the little one would have a friend would the mother reject it because its not hers? Would she try to kill it?

I was thinking if I got another chick that in a couple weeks if I tried to Introduce them back to the small flock it would be an easier transition? I should add that both of my coops and runs are connected in the center so they can see each other all the time.

I'm fixing to walk down there and post a picture of my set up.

Here is the inside of the cute little coop!