First time Chick raiser, Hatch day! Advice on sexing chick (photos)

Ambera

Chirping
Apr 10, 2022
Somerset, UK
Hi,

I'm very excited, it's my first time raising chicks! Our friend gave us 6 eggs, 1 has just hatched at around 2 hours ago, and I'm still hopeful for a second hatching today/tomorrow. Our broody hen is only sat on 2 eggs now, 1 looked hopeful when I last candled them a week ago, the other I expect stopped developing.

Anyway, here is our little chick! I'm wondering if anyone can give any advice on sexing them? I'm a tad worried that since they have a larger comb and are black that they may be a cockerel?

WhatsApp Image 2023-09-19 at 15.20.48.jpg
WhatsApp Image 2023-09-19 at 15.20.50.jpg
WhatsApp Image 2023-09-19 at 15.20.51.jpg

I know you can use the wing feathers to sex them at one day old, so I plan to pick them up and get better photos tommorow when I move the chick (hopefully 2 chicks by then!) and hen to their new pen. Will post them then.

Also, here is a photo of the parents. The mother will be a red Lohmann hen (ex-battery), whilst the cockeral is a bantam. I'm not sure on his breed if anyone has any ideas?

WhatsApp Image 2023-09-19 at 15.20.52.jpg

Last edited:
Feather sexing only works for a few breeds and hybrids specifically bred for it to work. It won't work with random crosses. Nor will color of the chick be a factor. You will most likely have to wait until 6 weeks or so, and go by comb size and color then.

The father of the chicks looks to be a Cochin bantam. I'm really surprised with those parents that you would get a black chick, but genetics can do strange things sometimes.

First of the chick is adorable!
With that comb that young id watch the chick very closely. Its a little to young to say for sure if its a cockerel or pullet. Ive never wing sexed before so hopefully others have input for that.