Flooring material and duck types

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by tripletmumm, Oct 6, 2011.

1. tripletmumm

tripletmumm Out Of The Brooder

Apr 25, 2011
    Hood River, Oregon
    Hi. I have three ducks that are around 5 months old. I'm not sure what kind I have because I think the farm supply store that sold them to me, didn't know what they were selling. :)

I was told one was a Buff Orphington, but has turned out to be a white duck with yellow bill and feet. I think it turned out to be a Pekin. I've read that Pekin tend to have a lot of leg injuries and this one seems to waddle a bit more than the others (like maybe it has a sore leg, but who knows . . . i'm new to this.)

I was told one was a Rouen, although it never looked like a Rouen when I did searches on it as a baby. As a duckling it had black down with a yellow spot on it's chest (black bill and feet). Now it is all black with a greenish tint to the feathers, however the tips of it's flight feathers have a blueish/purplish sheen.

The third was supposed to be a khaki Campbell. I still think that is what this one is. :) Guess one out of three isn't bad.

Also. . . I have been putting wood shavings on the floor of the coop. The ducks really seem to spread a lot of water all over and get the shavings really wet. Is this normal? Is there something a bit better than wood shavings? I've read some people use sand, but that would be really heavy to shovel out. . . Also do you have a drain on the floor of your coop to allow all that water to drain out? The other day, I shoveled out the wood shavings (because it was really bad) but didn't have any new ones to put in. This morning there was enough water on the floor of the coop to shovel out.

I'm just trying to figure out what's going on :) Please help.

2. DUCKGIRL89

DUCKGIRL89 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2011
    TN
    You have a pekin, black cayuga, and a khaki. I heard only "jumbo" pekins have problems with their leg.