Freaking out about temp in incubator!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by delaswim, Feb 28, 2011.

1. delaswim

delaswim Out Of The Brooder

Feb 28, 2011
    Smithville, MO
    I hope everyting is ok in my incubator. The thermometer slid off the eggs and now reads at 96-97 degrees. Previously, it had been stabilized at 99.5-100. I’m guessing no, but should I open the incubator to set the thermometer back on the eggs? Or just wait till day 7 when I candle them? I’ve got a Hova Bator Styrofoam system with the egg turner. Thanks for the feedback, I'm a newbie at this...

2. smchickfarm

smchickfarm Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 9, 2010
    Waynesville,OH
    hello and welcome [​IMG]

I think you are ok to open and reposition your thermometer. That is just my opinion but I really think you would be ok.

3. ShadowRooster

ShadowRooster Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 11, 2010
    claremont, NH
    My temp dropped to 85 and all chicks still hatched.. open it, it will be fine. Have you been adding water? That would be a good time to do it.

4. HHandbasket

HHandbasket The Chickeneer

I open my incubator about 8 times a day to turn the eggs. Things are going well, and I believe we'll have a better hatch this go-round than last time.

5. delaswim

Feb 28, 2011
    Smithville, MO
    I read the Dry Incubation article and I'm leary opening it up just to reset the thermometer. I'm guessing the temp is ok since I had it stabilized before adding the eggs. I had the center water channel filled, so I don't think adding water is necessary at this point. I just wish someone would say,"don't worry about it and leave it closed till day 7".

6. gumbii

gumbii Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 7, 2010
    bell gardens, ca
    is this a forced air system...? or still air...?

if it's still air, i think it should be fine...

7. delaswim

Feb 28, 2011
    Smithville, MO