Free range Turkey for dinner.

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by Suzierd, Nov 27, 2013.

1. Suzierd

Suzierd Overrun With Chickens

Aug 8, 2011
    Oregon
    Well I went to the trouble of getting a organic free range turkey no preservatives, antibiotics or other junk and my husband says " you got Free Range? It will be stringy!" I just brushed it off and thought no way it will be better. Now I'm starting to wonder what if he's right? I have all the family homing here for Thanksgiving, I can't take a chance on a stringy Turkey! I paid a arm and a leg for organic free range but I can stick it in the freezer and run out and get a different one for tomorrow. What do you all think?

Last edited: Nov 27, 2013
  2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    I'd say use it. It will be special. However, don't use the same recipe as for commercial broad breasted whites.

I'm not an expert on free range heritage turkey but I would start brining it right now since it hasn't been injected. Leave it in the brine in the fridge till time to go in the oven.

http://www.chefscollaborative.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/All-About-Heritage-Turkeys.pdf

You'll find information here:
    http://www.heritageturkeyfoundation.org/

and at Slow Food and ALBC

http://www.heritageturkeyfoundation.org/articles/Turkey Article 06.htm

good luck and let me know how it goes.

3. ChickenCanoe

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    You could just brine it with water to cover and a lot of sea salt or I found a brine recipe.

water to cover
    1 cup Kosher or sea salt 1/2 cup plus
    1 Tbsp honey (sugar or agave nectar work too)
    18 bay leaves
    30 unpeeled garlic cloves, smashed
    3 Tbsp whole black peppercorns
    5 large fresh rosemary sprigs
    1 1/2 bunch fresh thyme
    1 1/2 bunch fresh parsley
    2 Tbsp finely grated lemon peel
    3/4 cup fresh lemon juice

http://www.localharvest.org/features/heritage-turkey-recipes.jsp

4. Rosa moschata