Getting 2-3 silkie hens. Need approval first.

I guess it depends on how much you want to risk. Personally, I wouldn’t risk getting a pet that I know isn’t allowed where I live. I know that I would get upset if I got them, got attached and then had to get rid of them.

Properties with HOA’s have never appealed to me because I don’t like that somebody could tell me what color to paint my house, what pets I can have or what I could park at my house.

Maybe you will have luck appealing to the board for an exception but make sure you do some research first on noise, smell and neighborhood impact. Silkies are fairly quiet as long as you get pullets. The roosters are just as loud as any other rooster.

Hello, I’m pretty new to BYC. I’m going to be getting either 2-3 silkie pullets this coming summer. Our state ordinances allows chickens but no roosters. Good. I go to our neighborhood deed restrictions. No good. It does NOT allow poultry. This is annoying. So, I’m either going to GO GET PERMISSION FROM MY SURROUNDING NEIGHBORS, or I WILL GET PERMISSION FROM THE HOA BOARD asking for an exception. I’ve talked to silkie owners who say that their chickens aren’t too loud. Which one of the two options is best? Thanks.

Going against HOA can turn into a nightmare. All it will take is one snippy neighbor to cause you heartache and possible legal troubles. If you're going to defy the rules have a backup plan of where the hens can go with little to no notice. Also keep in mind that your current neighbors could decide to sell and whoever buys their house might not accept the situation. Asking for permission will put you on their radar, so if they rule against you and you proceed anyway, they'll find out in short order. Still, I'd do it the right way or not at all. Moving is the simple solution. :thNot. Real cost effective though.

I would petition for a chance of HOA rules. I believe the are several threads from people who have gone through simar issues.