giant homemade nipple waterer question

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by MetalSmitten, Oct 4, 2011.

1. MetalSmitten

MetalSmitten Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2010
    bloomington, indiana
    So I was thinkin, with winter coming up here it sure is annoying to keep the waterers full (even heated waterers, because we can't use a frozen hose). And the thought occurred to me, would it be possible to attach nipple waterers to a large metal trash can or barrel (so, 20 gallons up to 55 gal) ? That way, we'd have to fill it far less frequently, and we could put a pond heater into the water to keep it from freezing. But I have no experience with the nipple waterers, I don't know if they could handle a larger amount of water pressure? And would having the water heated keep the nipples from freezing? Also, do they have to be mounted on the very bottom of a container, or could they possibly be mounted on the sides near the bottom (so, parallel to the ground instead of perpendicular)? Anyone with experience? Thanks in advance [​IMG]

Last edited: Oct 4, 2011
  2. southerndesert

southerndesert B & M Chicken Ranch

Jun 17, 2011
    Morristown, AZ
    I am thinking that may be too much water pressure....

Here are some heaters that you may want to look at... Water heaters

3. MetalSmitten

Apr 11, 2010
    bloomington, indiana
    I have a heater [​IMG] I just don't know if the nipples would work on something that large. Have you tried anything bigger than a 5gal?

4. mstrrlm

mstrrlm Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 23, 2011
    Picayune, MS
    I have seen them on 5 gallons drums

5. <3 N.C Chicken Chick <3

<3 N.C Chicken Chick <3 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 24, 2011
    Jacksonville N.C
  6. MetalSmitten

Apr 11, 2010
    bloomington, indiana
    I know they can go on a 5gal... I'm wanting to use them on 20-55, not sure if they'd work for that.

7. <3 N.C Chicken Chick <3

<3 N.C Chicken Chick <3 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 24, 2011
    Jacksonville N.C