Good Quail feeder for cage setup?

SamG347

Songster
12 Years
Mar 4, 2007
PA
Anyone have a good homemade or bought quail feeder that you use for your caged quail setups? I have just been looking all over and was thinking of doing the rabbit feeders that attach to the side but that is pretty expensive...unless boughten locally but I have not looked at the petstores yet. Anyone else have any recommendations?
Thanks!
big_smile.png

I have side feeders both the ones that clip on and the ones that are a 1/2 circle that hang on. both work. I dont use bowls cause they tip them over. I always give them a little at a time too (just what they can eat) a few times a day or they spill it all and waste it
smile.png

I use the rabbit feeders with a solid bottom so the crumbles don't fall through - it's great because I can fill it from the outside. I buy all my cage wire and feeders from www.klubertanz.com - I've been ordering with them for over 15 years and they've never disappointed me.

I found two bird feeders the type that has the squirrel gaurd on them at my local recycling center's metal pile. There was nothing wrong with them except they were missing the plexi window and alittle bent. I modified the worst of the two by taking the guard off and bending the metal outward so it would be flat up against where the window of the feeder would be against the wall of the coop. They have been using it for about a week so far and they have no problems auto feeds and it looks like the feed will last about 2 weeks for 13 birds.

I have been using a j-feeder for my quail and it's working well! easy to fill from the outside! My quail also figured out on their own how to use my automatic watering system from my rabbits, yeaaaa! no more water bottles!

Quote:
wow what a great website thanks for the link I have been looking for some parts that they have for the cages I got. thanks again!!!