Has anyone had DNA sexing be wrong? Pullet with large peacomb

peachini44

Chirping
Dec 18, 2020
I am curious if anyone has had DNA sexing be inaccurate? I took feathers at 6 weeks and this easter egger (opal legbar x a "blue egg layer") came back as female. However, at 9 weeks her comb has really been growing this last week or two and now is starting to look cockerel-ish. I am new to peacombs and only have on fast developing cockerel to compare her too (same age but he has pointed feathers including the sickle tail feathers, very red and developed pea comb, and crows since 8 weeks).

She never had a distinct full 3 rows, just the middle beads and then almost like an asymmetrical horseshoe shape of the 2 side rows. Now the rows are filling in and becoming more prominent. It still does not compare to the cockerel of the bunch, but he is very developed already. She also always had a grey-pink color face and comb color as a chick that grew pink with age, which also happened to another cuckoo female I had, so I think this is probably normal. It is still distinctly pink compared to the cockerels but it has deepened from pale to more bubblegum color. Sometimes it is more red but I think its from flushing/increased blood flow and it comes and goes. Lastly, in the last week the 4 hatch-mates have all been sorting out pecking order and sparring and she and the definite cockerel go at it the most. That being said, she has always acted more like a pullet just with a head-hen/dominant personality. Her feathers so far are all rounded too.

Curious if anyone has gotten a wrong result, and also will follow with a few pictures for gender opinion. I'd be so sad if she really isn't a she afterall because I can't keep her and she is so sweet and fun.... but would rather know sooner rather than later. I -THINK- she is a she and is just developing a bit fast, but I need some other opinions for peace of mind!