Hello!!! Chicken newbie!!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by luluvantuckett, Oct 1, 2014.

1. luluvantuckett

luluvantuckett Out Of The Brooder

Oct 1, 2014
    East Texas
    Howdy there!
    I'm VERY new to chickens. My husband and I just adopted two Leghorns from our local humane society a few days ago. We spent the last two nights building a coop while our dog guarded the girls. [​IMG]We have a fenced in back yard and built a moveable 10'x10' A frame coop. I did the research on how to make the coop safe for them and put a layer of hardware cloth around the bottom. We put sheet metal under the bottom. We still have some work to do on it. I don't think they like their perch. [​IMG]

We named them Camilla and Carla. I think they're overweight. And I have no idea how old they are.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

They were brought to the humane society over a month ago as an owner surrender because they were "not performing their duties sufficiently." Which I guess they weren't laying as many eggs as their owner had liked. They did lay eggs at the shelter so they are producing... even in that stressful environment. They haven't laid any here yet. We wanted them for pets and for eggs. We love them both already. They love our fig tree when I let them roam the yard.
    I've been doing research but I will still have a lot of questions. I'll try to find answers through existing posts... but I'll probably have many posts. If anyone sees anything in my photos that needs to be brought to my attention please do so.

Glad to join the community!
    -Lulu

Last edited: Oct 1, 2014
  2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Love your avatar, what kind of chicken guarding dog do you have, seems serious about his work. Welcome to Backyard chickens

3. liz9910

liz9910 Overrun With Chickens

Apr 8, 2012
    Northern California
    [​IMG]

4. luluvantuckett

Oct 1, 2014
    East Texas