Hello from Colorado!!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Chook Chick, Feb 5, 2013.

1. Chook Chick

Chook Chick Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 5, 2013
    Security, Colorado
    I am new to raising chickens, (with the exception of a bantam I had) seriously considering adopting 3 or 4. Need to check with my immediate neighbors first so they don't have a cow (sorry about the barnyard humor, I couldn't resist!) Lucky me, my neighbor four houses down has chickens and builds coops, he does a GREAT job. He also says he'll work with me on price too!

Needing advice on the best breed(s) for cold winter weather/hot summer weather, and egg layers.

Looking forward to talking 'turkey' with you folks! [​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 5, 2013
  2. silkieluver50

silkieluver50 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 21, 2012
    Hello and [​IMG] glad you joined us and I do have chickens there called rhode island and they lay quite a lot of eggs they can also survive the winter but it mostly ddepends where you live because where i live theres barely any snow in winter

1 person likes this.
  3. Chook Chick

Chook Chick Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 5, 2013
    Security, Colorado
    I live in Colorado Springs....our winters can be very unpredictable. Sometimes we get alot of snow, sometimes just alot of cold with the wind blowing....other times just cold; then we can get up to 68 degrees in the middle of winter. So it's anyone's guess, which is why I need a breed that will do well in just about any type of weather!

Thanks for the response and the welcome! Btw, I think RIR's are beautiful!! [​IMG]

4. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    1 person likes this.
  5. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas, chook chick, and [​IMG]! Great to have you with us! Hope you find the breeds you like so many out there from which to choose. But that's part of the fun!

1 person likes this.
  6. 1muttsfan