1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hello from MO

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by goodpasture, May 31, 2017.

1. goodpasture

goodpasture New Egg

May 31, 2017
    Hey Everyone ... I am brand new to chickens or well actually haven't even got there yet. I've been reading up and asking questions for a year or two now but this summer I plan on starting. I am wanting to build my coop. I've looked at buying used but it is all nasty ugly junk for $300 or $400 and that just seems pointless. I want something nice and pretty and sturdy that will last a while and I don't mind getting my hands dirty. What got me here is a book i was reading, Backyard Chickens for Beginners: Getting the Best Chickens, Choosing Coops, Feeding and Care, and Beating City Chicken Laws. It specifically listed this site and said go there and click on "Coops" for literally thousands of user submitted designs with pictures, materials lists and schematics. I realize this is a couple years old but I can't see a site like this just dumping such an awesome resource for it's users. So am I missing the area for this or something??? I would really appreciate a link or something to the area where I can see these and get started building my coop. Hope to see ya'all around! Thanks

2. Ol Grey Mare

Ol Grey Mare One egg shy of a full carton. ..... Premium Member

Mar 9, 2014
    Oregon
    My Coop
    drumstick diva and CTKen like this.
  3. Ol Grey Mare

Ol Grey Mare One egg shy of a full carton. ..... Premium Member

Mar 9, 2014
    Oregon
    My Coop
  4. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi and welcome to BYC. I'm sure the Coops section will keep you occupied for a good many hours!