1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hello from Oregon

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by ArchersMom, Dec 2, 2015.

1. ArchersMom

ArchersMom Out Of The Brooder

Dec 2, 2015
    My name is Katie and I currently have 2 golden retrievers, one mixed breed dog and 1 cat. Hopefully we'll have about 6-8 chickens soon. I'm completely new to chickens so I decided to do lots of researching first. I'm planning to build my own coop, with the help of my husband. I still haven't decided which breed of chickens to buy. There's so many beautiful chickens and fun egg colors that I can't make up my mind!

2. Birdrain92

Birdrain92 Overrun With Chickens

Jun 7, 2013
    Idaho
    Welcome To BYC! Make yourself comfortable and ask any questions you may have. Greetings from Idaho. There are lots of chickens, each having something unique about them. What sort of chicken are you looking for? An amazing egg layer, meat bird, dual purpose, pet like, or exotic. Once you let us know what you're looking for we can help you from there to help you find the best chicken for you. Also you can have more than one breed of chicken and more than one purpose.

Last edited: Dec 2, 2015
  3. ArchersMom

ArchersMom Out Of The Brooder

Dec 2, 2015
    All of our chickens will be good egg layers and pets. I'm leaning towards Dominiques and Polish. Dominiques sound like the best bird for what I'm looking for, but I love the look of the polish. Especially the silver laced.

4. trailrider330

trailrider330 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 4, 2013
    Midwest America
    Welcome to the BYC flock! We are glad you joined us!

[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

5. Birdrain92

Birdrain92 Overrun With Chickens

Jun 7, 2013
    Idaho