Jaxolotl

In the Brooder
Aug 9, 2023
Hi folks, this is my first time really talking here, but I’ve seen that a lot of good advice can be found for helping chickens in need.

One of my hens was displaying symptoms of sour crop, I massaged her crop a few nights ago, and she regurgitated quite a bit of solids and liquids, and towards the end, blood.
Her behavior was better the next day, but has declined once again. She’s pooped a few times but there has occasionally been what looks to be blood or intestinal lining in it. Very watery as she’s not been eating a lot.
Her crop is getting somewhat darker, and I’ve seen this with a previous hen who passed away with an entirely black crop. The vet gave her an autopsy for free, but then retired and never followed up.
What could the “black crop” that I saw then and again now be caused by? Is there any good way to help?
Any advice is appreciated!!!
Thanks!

Hi folks, this is my first time really talking here, but I’ve seen that a lot of good advice can be found for helping chickens in need.

One of my hens was displaying symptoms of sour crop, I massaged her crop a few nights ago, and she regurgitated quite a bit of solids and liquids, and towards the end, blood.
Her behavior was better the next day, but has declined once again. She’s pooped a few times but there has occasionally been what looks to be blood or intestinal lining in it. Very watery as she’s not been eating a lot.
Her crop is getting somewhat darker, and I’ve seen this with a previous hen who passed away with an entirely black crop. The vet gave her an autopsy for free, but then retired and never followed up.
What could the “black crop” that I saw then and again now be caused by? Is there any good way to help?
Any advice is appreciated!!!
Thanks!
Can you post pictures? It'll help us, help you.

Definitely pictures.
Even if the vet retired, the practice likely still has records, I would call and ask if they do.