HELP! chicken have trouble pooping

thatdude

In the Brooder
Aug 1, 2017
hi guys im fairly new to byc!!

i have got two new white rock bantam hens recently. going to find out age soon they are at least over 3 years old. they do have scaly leg mite but im treating it (there in quarentine dont worry:). the main concern is that one of them is straining almost every time she poops. some times she gets the poop all out other times she cant get it all out. most of the time she is pooping she does a huge squat and you can here her and see her straining. i have to clean around her vent daily because the poop gets encrusted to the skin. they are ex show birds. they have been to a ton of shows very stressed. i picked them up a poultry barn at a 4-h exhibition. if they are healthy i might use them for 4-h. could the pooping problem be caused by stress?

thank you so much for you time.

not sure as to cause, but I would:

1. next time you clean her up, cover the area with olive oil so that poo will not stick

2. encourage her to drink lots

3. give her calcium, both oyster she'll and maybe some ground up egg shells on her feed

good luck

ok i just did the olive oil thing and they have lots of oyster shells available. i have been dipping her beak in her water. she has been sluggish which concerns me because she used to be the more active of the two.

thanks again:)

the area around her vent does to stick out could it be swelling?i dont see any of that red stuff coming out of her vent like in a prolapsed vent but her vent does look very opened up.

she does seam to be eating. if i lock them out in the run they will scratch at the grass and eat a bit. they have been eating the the lettuce/kale i gave them. Maby she ate to much kale? they have grain with oyster shells in it available 24/7 and the supply in the feeder seems to go down.

if i dont lock them out in there run they will go back in there coop. i think it is because they spent most of there lives at showing and in cages.