HELP! Duck Egg Emergency!

RoslinRose

Hatching
Sep 8, 2016
PLEASE READ! I NEED HELP! This is my first time hatching duck eggs and I may have made a fatal mistake!:hit One of my chickens decided to start laying with duck eggs and I let her set on three. Two were duds and so I have been so worried about my one survivor. My little ducky is supposed to hatch real soon, well that's what I thought. It is on at least day 24 and I don't have an accurate timeline to follow because I don't know the breed of my ducks, for all I know it could take a lot longer for him to be ready to hatch. Anyways Wednesday at 8:00 PM I went to check on him, I candled him and noticed his air cell had gotten quite a bit larger and I saw little shadows in the air cell. I instantly thought he had internally pipped and I was ecstatic!:celebrate I waited 24 hours making it Thursday at 8:00 PM and he still had not externally pipped. I searched every where for how long I should wait to assist and I was just to worried to wait any longer, for fear he would run out of oxygen. I got a pair of sharp tipped tweesers and gently scratched at the eggshell(at the air cell of course) just until I could chip away a small hole. I looked inside and, surprise! He hadn't even internally pipped.:idunno He was pushing at the membrane so hard, it had only made it look like he pipped. So now I have made a hole for oxygen to get in and dry the membrane. I know that ducklings can have a really hard time getting out of membranes that are either to wet or to dry, so I don't know what to do now. I really thought he had internally pipped and needed help externally pipping. he was pushing really hard at the membrane so maybe he was about to pip, or is having trouble? I feel so terrible! Is there any way he might still survive?:fl it is just a small hole, about half the size of my pinky fingernail. Please any advice or knowledge would be greatly appreciated!!!:bow