Help! Egg looking weird at Day 26 - embryo still moving!

Luckystrike1971

In the Brooder
May 13, 2021
Hello! Could anyone tell me please if this Mallard egg looks viable? It looks very odd to me with strange black spots inside, and everything separated out, with what looks like a whole side of albumen. But the embryo still seems to be moving! It's supposed to be Day 26, but I can't be sure as I was storing in quite a warm room while I was waiting for the incubator I ordered online to arrive, and I think it might have kick started it earlier than I intended. I've never done this before and have had to learn as I go after a Mallard laid a couple of eggs on my lawn (a week apart). Any advice gratefully received.
87AD9213-DB47-47DB-B620-B5116D9ACE3A.jpeg

Hello! Could anyone tell me please if this Mallard egg looks viable? It looks very odd to me with strange black spots inside, and everything separated out, with what looks like a whole side of albumen. But the embryo still seems to be moving! It's supposed to be Day 26, but I can't be sure as I was storing in quite a warm room while I was waiting for the incubator I ordered online to arrive, and I think it might have kick started it earlier than I intended. I've never done this before and have had to learn as I go after a Mallard laid a couple of eggs on my lawn (a week apart). Any advice gratefully received.View attachment 2667190

If you haven't already, I would go ahead and stop turning the eggs to get ready for hatch. Even if they aren't hatching early, it looks suspicious enough to play it safe and they're far enough in development to stop turning. :)

It does look a little odd to me, it takes pretty high temps for an egg to start developing even in a warm room but that's not to say it isn't possible. I had a egg that had a few days of development before I put it in the Incubator because it rolled into a hot corner of the coop and went unnoticed in the middle of the summer in Georgia heat for a few days.