Help! My chicken are dying :/

vsecretz

In the Brooder
5 Years
Oct 20, 2014
I am still pretty new to taking care of chickens as they were inherited with the house we purchased a few months ago. I am still not certain on which types of chickens I have other than the silkies. The others seem to be hens of course. About a month ago, one of my hens was found dead in the coop one morning. I freaked out and wasn't sure how it might've happened. There was no sign of foul play, no blood or loose feathers lying around. My assumption was that perhaps there was maybe a chicken fight but still unsure. I did not base it off of sickness because all of the other chickens were their usual selves, eating and drinking just fine.

Well, today - I go to the coop to give fresh water and veggies and saw the other twin to the hen that died a month ago, also dead. Now, I'm really freaking out and am upset because I do not know what's going on. I take pretty good care of them and check on them often. Everyone can appear to be fine and eating as usual and then boom - there's a death.

I live in New England (outside of Boston). The past few days, the temperature hasn't been too cold and I know that chickens are ok in the cold and they've been with this house for a few years. This particular chicken is one of my bigger ones. I actually named her "Bully" because she would often bully the other chickens come feeding time, she would stomp around and scare away the other chickens. So I was quite surprised that she was the one who was found dead this morning. I felt bad. With this particular death, I noticed there were a few of her feathers lying around her body on both sides. So, I wasn't sure if there were a pecking session on her from the other chickens or if this might have occurred after she had died.