HELP PLEASE!!!! Chick with broken foot

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by areilly143, Feb 20, 2013.

1. areilly143

areilly143 New Egg

Feb 20, 2013
    My baby chick has a broken foot!!! I think she got it snagged and twisted it when she got scared. The broke part is not the hock but spur. HOW DO I SPLINT THIS???

So i am new to owning chickens and i have four hens that just started laying eggs and two chicks who are around 1-2 month old. I keep the baby chickens in the same area as the big chickens but in a seperate coop.

Today I noticed that one of my chicks was limping really bad and that her foot was bent to the inside. Perfect L shape. I would like to keep her alive. I dont know how to splint her foot so that its straight and so that she can still walk on it. I seperated her and brought her inside. For now she does have a splint but it will not help her foot heal properly. It only provides enough support that she can put some weight on it. Mostly she hops around for a min and then lays down the rest of the time. can someone please help me???

2. I just looked at it and its actually not very helpful

3. tagy

tagy New Egg

Feb 20, 2013
    Help plz! I had 4 chicks one died 3 days ago. He walked like a duck and his legs kept shaking all the time. Now another one is having the same problem. He walks like a duck and legs shaking. He seems to fall sometimes the walks again. He eats and drinks normally. What can i do to help him? Why is this happening? I dont want him to die plz help!

4. U may want to look at the site I offered 143 there is a hyper link on the site that leads u to another site about spraddle leg and how u can fix it I am not sure about the shaking of the leg though there are alot of people on this site that can tell u the answer u just have to find them
    Maybe u can copy and paste your chick problem paragraphs to other threads that have something to do with a injured chick

5. areilly143

areilly143 New Egg