HELP! Where do i begin?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by jesusfreak806, Feb 7, 2012.

1. jesusfreak806

jesusfreak806 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 7, 2012
    Northern Utah
    Hey everyone!

My wife and I want to get started in raising some hens for eggs. I am brand new to the chicken game and would like some advice.

I have already checked and I can raise back yard chickens in my area.

I have a great place to put a coop at the back of my property behind my garage. The area is about 12'x20'.

I am looking for ideas on how to build a coop / pen area for as little $ as possible.

I don't know anything about the different breeds.

Overall... i am starting from square 1.

What all do i need to do to get things going?

Thanks,

Dana

2. HEChicken

HEChicken Overrun With Chickens

Aug 12, 2009
    BuCo, KS
    My Coop
    [​IMG] Sounds like a great start so far. For coop building ideas, I would start in the coops section. You may find that your vision changes the more you look but that's okay! If nothing else, you will find some great tips and advice on things you may not have thought to ask, just by reading through the descriptions of people building their coops.

For breeds, you can also look through the breeds database to see what kinds of breeds are available. As food for thought, ask yourselves these questions:

Do I want large fowl (standard size) or bantams (minis)?
    Do I want one breed or a variety of colors?
    Climate in my area? Do I need cold hardy or heat hardy birds?
    What is my main goal in keeping chickens? Eggs, meat, ornamental or a combo?
    Do I want hens that are likely to go broody and raise chicks, or those that are less likely?
    Do I care about egg color? Size?

Your answers to these questions will help you to narrow it down to a few breeds that most appeal to you and you can go from there.