Help with building coop/run (complete novice at building)

Rosekitten

Songster
5 Years
May 11, 2018
Rockingham, NC
Looking for threads, links, anything. I'm in a small town and trying to hire someone for semi quality work has been like pulling teeth. That or they are a town or two over and they want to charge 5 grand or more for a coop planned for 4 to 6 chickens heh.

So I'm gonna just say forget it and try my hand at getting this thing up and running.. I just wanted a lean to style small coop and run. I never dreamed it'd be rough to find a contractor just for that heh.

Can you give more details?

Raised coop?
Walk in coop?
Is the planned site level?
Budget?
Tools available?
Anyone able to help with heavy or awkward pieces?
Way to haul the materials?

While there may be challenges each has a solution.
Raised coop, ideally tall enough to get my wheelbarrow at least next to it for easy cleaning/moving.
planned site is near about level, I'd be leveling it out and lining the build area with cinder blocks and hardware cloth under those.
I only have some basic tools, but we should be getting some more wood working tools per say here soon from some family that was cleaning out one of the grandparent's sheds.
My husband is around to help with anything needed, he just has as little / much building experience as I have. :D
We have a car, but to my knowledge our local Lowes does deliver if we order from there. I think the few other places around here that may have any larger parts we'd need deliver here too.

Have you considered just modifying an old shed? You can find them for sale on CL and FB Marketplace or contact local shed builders and ask them if they have used ones they can deliver to you.
I have, but I haven't had luck finding a eh.. decent shape shed around my area. Falls back to small town issue and it's a low income county so stuff like that is snapped up quickly or stuff that people post almost looks like it's falling over/rusted...