Hen when broody but I don't want chicks

OtterCreekRanch

Songster
8 Years
Mar 16, 2011
NE Texas
It is too late in the year and getting cold out, but my oldest hen decided to go broody. I want to take the eggs for her since I do not want the chicks this late in the year. Will it be really tramatic for me to take them from her? I do not have ceramic eggs or anything to put back under her. If I take away her eggs will she stop being broody? This is my first time with a broody hen.

Just take the eggs away from her every day. She will sit on nothing if she is anything like my silkies.
wink.png

Are the eggs fertile. I noticed in your signature all your girls but is there a rooster? You can try taking them from her and remove her from the nest everytime you see her sitting for a couple days. Sometimes they will give up but if she is truly determined to brood and you don't want her to hatch any then the best way I know to break a broody hen is to confine her to a wire-bottomed cage, like a rabbit or dog kennel, and place that cage up on something like blocks or hang it from the rafters, so that air can flow up underneath. Make sure she has access to food and water, but NO bedding. Keep her in there for 3-4 days. Hope this helps. Good luck

Quote:
I agree. I take the eggs out from under my broody every day. I put the broody out of the nest box every time I see her in there as I don't want to hatch chicks with a broody right now either. The broody seems to get the message eventually. I have used a cage too as Patricia Jane mentioned. It works too. I do have eggs in my incubator but I am also hatching some eggs for a friend too.

This thread might help. It gives a lot of different people's experience and is full of suggestions. I personally find the cage for a few days the best solution.

Break a Broody Thread
https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=2176186#p2176186