Hen with eye infection, bubbling in eye, can't open it, help?

chicken_china_mom

Crazy for Cochins
10 Years
Apr 24, 2009
Tab, Indiana
I've been battling infections in various birds' eyes for about 2 months now, since the weather first started to cool off, and this time I went out to feed the birds and I found one of my Bantam Cochin hens walking around with one eye shut completely. I got my younger DD to help me catch her so I could take a good look, and I found her eye bubbling and leaky, and she won't open it. It's been colder the last week or so, and it's only getting colder from here on out, so I don't know if the drop in temp is playing a part in it or not. What I want to know is, can I put Teramycin in her eye? I've been treating some kittens that have been getting icky eyes with it, and I was wondering if I could use it on my hen too. Is it safe? I know it doesn't have any numbing agent in it cause the kittens mewl like they are being killed when I put it in their eyes from the sting. I know it stings against sore, raw eyes, but it helps the kittens so much. Can I use it?

I came on here tonight looking for an answer to the same question. I noticed the other day that one of my hens was walking around with a swollen closed eye, after close examination it was crusty. I soaked a wash cloth with warm water and washed kind of like my mom did when I was a kid and had a cold in my eye. I got it opened and I noticed today that it is closed and crusty again!
What can be done please help both of us.

Terramycin is great for eye problems! I would try to clean it human eye wash or sterile water and then use the Terramycin Opthalmic Ointment. Do they have other symptoms? Respiratory virus can sometimes be linked with eye issues.