Hen won't stand

bizzynik

Chirping
Apr 21, 2017
Kentucky
When I let my chickens out this afternoon, I had one of my hens that didn't come running out, which isn't unusual for her, sometimes she hangs back. When I checked in the coop she was laying down and wouldn't stand up. I picked her up and she didn't fuss, not normal, and tried to stand her up. She just fell over. I can move both her legs, and she'll move her wings, and tail. She's a 12 week old Wheaton Maran. I'm a total newbie, so I don't have a clue. She was fine yesterday when I put them in last night.

Update: She can move both her legs. When I pick her up, she will stand as long as I hold her. Once I let go, she topples over. She will eat and drink. She's at the bottom of my flock, but I've seen her eat and drink with the other birds. I've got her separated with her own food and water supply. I noticed her toes on both feet were curled up, and one let was tucked under her, and the other was stretched out.
1496949183209285527423.jpg

Last edited:
Is she having runny poops or any with blood. Coccidiosis can really weaken them. Corid will treat that. Was she vaccinated for Mareks disease? Her symptoms may be caused by a vitamin B2 (riboflavin) deficiency, dehydration, or she could be showing some early signs of Mareks. I would use some electrolytes and vitamins in the water, and offer the pullet some chopped egg and put a lot of water into a small bowl of chick feed to make it soupy. Since she cannot stand by herself, a chicken sling may help with her feed and water placed in front of her. Hopefully, she is just weak from being temporarily lame, and not getting enough to eat and drink. Please let us know how she reacts to the treatments.