Hi from S. Central Nebraska!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by YonkFarm, Feb 10, 2009.

1. YonkFarm

YonkFarm Out Of The Brooder

Feb 10, 2009
    Sutton, Nebraska
    (1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?
    I am new to chickens. I'm working on plans for our coop/run, and this site has been incredibly helpful in that! I would really like to get some eggs to hatch (as I think it would be a great family project) or chicks this spring.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?
    None, but hope to have around 15

(3) What breeds do you have?
    Still working on which breeds to get. I want primarily egg layers/pets, and am looking at Red Star, Ameraucana, RIR, Orpingtons, Rocks and maybe some bantams.

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com?
    Did a google search for building chicken coops, and since I found this site, haven't really looked anywhere else!

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?
    Love to knit and wish I liked to quilt like my grandma; the same grandma who raised chickens for meat and eggs and taught me so much about so many things! Just wish she was still here and that I would have paid more attention when she was here so I could glean from her wisdom!

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.
    I've been married to my best friend for 22 years, have a married daughter (25), and two sons (17 & 14), a granddaughter (17 mo.) and another grandbaby due in May. We have an Italian greyhound (Pal), a Yorkie (Bitsy), the newest member of the family: a lab mix (Ellie), and 3 farm cats and I would love to have some goats someday! We moved to a 10 acre farm last June. We have homeschooled our sons for 8 years.

2. B. Saffles Farms

B. Saffles Farms Mr. Yappy Chickenizer

Nov 23, 2008
    Madisonville, TN
    [​IMG] from TN

3. The Chicken Lady

The Chicken Lady Moderator Staff Member

Apr 21, 2008
    West Michigan
    [​IMG]