Hoover review

LCfarms

In the Brooder
6 Years
May 19, 2013
So I figured I would add my thoughts on Hoover Hatchery. I ordered 25 austrolorp pullets last friday. My chicks were shipped wednesday and were at my post office thursday afternoon. None were dead and in fact I have 27. Being that they were ordered so late in the year when everybody else is about sold out the chicks are all in good health. The only one I have concerns about is one that possibly is either missing an eye or its deformed. There doesnt appear to be any discharge coming from it yet and otherwise she is eating well and is perky. This is day two with my new arrivals so I will keep everyone posted on their progress but so far I am very impressed with Hoover.

I am also interested in getting a flock of Austrolorp's. Are the ones you have the Black ones ? I am new at this , and I'm not aware of any other colors. Would you have a link to Hoover Hatchery ? Have you done business with them before ? Have you raised this breed before ? Sorry about all the questions . Any info about this breed or Hatchery would be greatly appreciated.

To my knowledge australorps do only come in black. This is my first time with this breed and this hatchery, but most people in my area have australorps so I'm familier with their characteristics. So far what I've noticed about the australorps compared to my other breeds is that they are very quick maturing. They are also very docile as chicks. My barred rocks were extremely aggressive chicks and my two leghorns did everything in their power to get away from me, but these guys are a happy medium of the two. I have two or three that can be little stinkers that try and beat my hand up but they are not as hard as my barred rocks. Though this is my first time using Hoover I am very impressed with their quality of their birds, their prices, and their customer service. I would definetly use this hatchery again. Here is the link to their site:http://www.hoovershatchery.com/