How About a Jumbo Co Op

Discussion in 'Quail' started by diggypaws, Nov 23, 2010.

1. diggypaws

diggypaws Out Of The Brooder

Apr 22, 2010
    Southern Illinois
    Fifty years ago, as a kid on the farm, I found out that if you breed a white hog to a black hog, or a fast horse to a faster horse, or cross a big tomato to a small tomato - you could work for certain results.

All my life I've studied the genetics of animals I owned, from emus and llamas to dogs and goats, and since I work at a university and could take classes for free, I took biology and genetics classes while I was getting my accounting degree.

So even though I don't have much experience with quail, I'm not clueless.

The first shipment of quail eggs I got this spring had a lot of variation in size, so being a newbie, I naturally wondered if I would get jumbo birds from the jumbo eggs, so I looked it up.

Found a great study by a Turkish university with lots of information and measurements from setting the eggs, hatch weights, then weekly records of how much growth, and how much feed consumption until they were 6 weeks old. Then they stopped the study at 6 wks, when they had all evened out at about 6 oz.

http://veteriner.istanbul.edu.tr/vetfakdergi/yayinlar/2005-2/Makale-4.pdf

There was another Turkish study of the results of selection and crossing. They started out with bigger birds, but the last generation in their study had males that were 290 grams, and females that were 311 grams at FIVE weeks.

An ounce is 28.3 grams, so the males were 10.2 oz and the females were 10.99 oz. At FIVE weeks.

I want some of those eggs.

http://www.medwelljournals.com/fulltext/?doi=javaa.2009.962.970