How long will a hatched chick survive in the incubator?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Southwellski, Aug 28, 2011.

1. Southwellski

Southwellski Out Of The Brooder

Aug 28, 2011
    Feltwell, UK
    This is my first time incubating and tonight (day 20) I have two out of six which have externally pipped. One is very active and I can see his little beak poking through the hole. The other is still but has broken through the membrane. Anyway, I am leaving well alone but what do I do when the active chick hatches (hopefully overnight) yet the others haven't? I thought I'm not supposed to open the incubator whilst the eggs are hatching, but how long will a hatched chick survive in the incubator without food or water? We have a box and heat lamp set up all ready and were planning on feeding chick crumb. Also I have another batch on day 15, will these be able to go in with the chicks that (hopefully) hatch out tonight/tomorrow and will be 1 weekish old?

Any other advice would be very welcome. It is so exciting but very tense here tonight!!!

2. Silkie Sue

Silkie Sue Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 23, 2007
    Sarnia, Ontario
    A chick can live 12 hours or so in the incubator ( although i get them out as soon as safely possible)
    you must wait until no other eggs have pipped, then take the chick out quickly and get the humidity back up to 65 %
    enjoy!!!!

3. peepblessed

peepblessed Chillin' With My Peeps

I have left mine for 24 hours without a problem and heard they can stay even longer if necessary. Welcome to BYC!! [​IMG]

4. nurse_turtle

nurse_turtle Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2011
    Foothills of NC
    A chick can live in the bator up to 3 days. The yolk absorbed just before hatching will nourish the chick for over 48 hours. I remove my chicks from the bator when they are active and dried, usually 6-8 hours.

5. Fiddlehead

Fiddlehead Chillin' With My Peeps

May 12, 2010
    Western Mass