How much feed will I need for 8 free range in the backyard hens?

ToastedSalmon

In the Brooder
9 Years
Mar 1, 2010
Newbie here, I've been checking out books and the online resources, but I have some specific questions I haven't found answers to...

We are planning to get a 2-3 pullets/hens that have just started laying from my aunt who lives out in the country, and also will add 4-6 day old chicks from a local feed store. We live on .21 acres, and have about half of that fenced in as our backyard. We are playing around with coop/run designs, throwing around the possibility of a tractor, but I want to know how much we can depend on the chickens eating on their own from the yard, and how much we'll need to supplement w/ bought food. And if 8 hens are free ranging in my backyard, how much area is required to keep it from becoming one huge mud pit?

If it matters, we're looking at heavy dual pupose breeds like rhode island red, australorp and barred rocks.

Also, should/do they eat plants like hostas, ivy, dusty miller, azaleas? Should I protect the birds or the plants from each other?

Thanks for any help!

welcome-byc.gif
I think for 8 birds you won't be needing a lot of rations, but you will need to make sure they get a balanced diet by supplementing them. Toss down what they will eat within 15 minutes. Do this twice daily. Make sure they have oyster shell for calcium. Depending on your quality of forage, the ammount they consume of ration will vary. I'd protect plants that you want to keep. Chickens don't mind cleaning out flower beds of unwanted AND wanted plants.
smile.png
If you don't want mud, the tractor is the best idea on the size of your plot of land. I think you may have a hard timewith that anyway. 8 chickens scratch a lot! Hope that helps!

Quote:
welcome-byc.gif
toasted salmon,