I put them on shavings!

Arielle

Crowing
8 Years
Feb 19, 2011
Massachusetts, USA
I finally gave in and put in several inches of shavings.

I am a newbie at raising chicks. The idea of putting them on shavings terrified me. I worried: The shavings are little bits of wood to stuff themselves on when every little bite of complete feed is essential.

I kept them on paper towels, went thru boat loads of those. Put down a cheap cloth. Gathered it up , put down a fresh one, and shook out the soiled one over the lawn and washed it. Repeat. I can't take it any longer!! THey make too much poo and the clothe is too moist IMO for good health. THey are over 6 weeks old. THey eat a lot and drink a lot! ANd the coop isn't ready due to Old MAn WInter dumping more snow than we've seen in over 15 years!! Enough. If all of you put them on shavings, I will try it too!

Pullets crammed into the corners while I dumped and spread the shavings. THey must have thought the sky is falling.
lau.gif
I tried to reassure them and pushed them out of the corners. To their surprise, they really could walk on this new stuff.

I hope this will keep the moisture down, and I can keep it clean . . . or else I may just pull everything out of the shed and put them in!!!!

Love this website!! So full of knowlegable people!
bow.gif

I really dont think you have anything to worry about with pine shavings. I put mine on wood shavings when they were day olds and had no problems.

I'm getting four babies at the end of this month. I can hardly wait.
ya.gif
Since I'm new to this I've decided to use paper towels for first week then I plan on going to pine shavings.