I want to eat the eggs... what do i do?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Chica Lady, Mar 31, 2012.

1. Chica Lady

Chica Lady Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2012
    Taylors, SC
    I am sorry if this is in the wrong section. I have searched for similar posts and found nothing. If it is wrong, please move.

I am new to chickening, and don't know very much. here is my question.

I want to eat the eggs that my chickens lay, but I am not sure how to handle the eggs before consumption. What do I do?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanx in advance

Chica Lady [​IMG]

2. tyjaco

tyjaco Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2010
    Cloverdale, CA
    Refrigerate them. Then cook them and eat them.
    nothing special. If there's a little poop on it - you can clean it off right before you crack it, but don't wash them before that.
    Enjoy1 There's nothing like FRESH eggs!

3. bobbi-j

bobbi-j Chicken Obsessed

Mar 15, 2010
    On the MN prairie.
    Take 'em out of the nest, and bring them in the house! [​IMG] Some people keep them on the counter for a week or more, some people refrigerate them. If they are dirty, wash them just before using them. Nothing to it! Enjoy!

4. speckledhen

speckledhen Intentional Solitude Premium Member

Unless they have poop on them, you have to do nothing special. I bring mine in the house and put them on the counter until I have enough for a carton (right now, that is about a half day, sometimes, it takes a couple of days if they aren't laying well). You can bring them in and put them right in whatever you're cooking if you want. Truly fresh eggs are the real benefit of having your own chickens. Can't get fresher than direct from nest to frying pan!

5. erlibrd

erlibrd Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Oct 8, 2010
    mn
    If I'm going to cook them I'll just crack them open as is, if I will use them raw like in egg nog I"ll wash them first :)

6. six_eclectic_chickens

six_eclectic_chickens Chillin' With My Peeps