I'm a daddy! But need your folks advice

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by El Pollo Chicken, Aug 23, 2010.

1. El Pollo Chicken

El Pollo Chicken New Egg

May 28, 2008
    Hiya guys - I've been envying all of your natural born chicks for about 3 years now. A random mother decided to go broody, and wala - today I'm a daddy.

She has set in the lower row of nest boxes...but they are about 2 1/2 feet up from the ground. I'm afraid when they go to leave the nest that some will break their legs or necks.

Here's where I need your advice; do I leave them where they are (and look the other way), or place them in a corner of the chicken shed, or place them in an enclosed shelter I already have setup for 8, two week old chicks I bought from Tractor Supply? Or something else?

Thanks all in advance.

BTW, they are black sex links, in case you need to know their weight.

2. dieselgrl48

dieselgrl48 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 21, 2010
    Virginia