I'm a newbie to ducks! Tell me your ways oh wise ones!!

Moochie

Songster
9 Years
Nov 8, 2010
North Edwards
Just got two crested babies today. They aren't fully feathered but are pretty big, I don't know the age though. I think I have both a girl and a boy... The larger one's voice is raspy compared to the smaller one's, which is a clean quack (chirp, actually). The rancher told my mom and I that ducks eat the same food as chickens... So I'm sure I got food covered. Plus they'll be getting plenty of snacks.
I've already given them a temporary pond, soon I'll dig into the ground and have a large tub in their enclosure, so they'll have a somewhat "natural" water source, lol.
In the enclosure are 3 young pullets, there were 2 cockerels... They were being mean to the ducks so I had to remove them. There is also a handicapped chicken in there, she doesn't do much so she's okay with them.

So, tell me... The basics of raising ducks? Also, why are they so mushy? I noticed when I picked them up that they are mushy. Oh any info on breeding would be great too. I love raising poultry.

Do they sleep in the water? They have a place to sleep that I set up for them but they haven't touched it.

Last edited:
It sounds like you have a male and a female.
Ducks can eat Gamebird food or Flockraiser.
I like your description-mushy. That's a good way to describe how soft they are.
smile.png

They always need clean water to rinse out their nares and plenty of water for swimming and dunking.

Quote:
Ohh I see.. Eh rancher...
Nares?
Oh and when I was petting them the female was doing some odd thing to my arm. Kinda like nibbling.. She stretched out her neck from my hand up my wrist, and nibbled kind of. The male doesn't seem to like me much.