Jes78b

Chirping
Oct 26, 2018
I have to go to court in October regarding my chickens.
I'm new to this small town, which was sold to us as a homestead. The realtor assured me pets, chickens, and horses were all allowed.
My neighbors have goats, pigs, chickens, turkeys, peafowl, but for whatever reason I'm not allowed.
The citation says, roosters are waking neighbors; Chickens are in yard.
I don't know what to do or where to begin.
Any help is appreciated. Thanks

I have to go to court in October regarding my chickens.
I'm new to this small town, which was sold to us as a homestead. The realtor assured me pets, chickens, and horses were all allowed.
My neighbors have goats, pigs, chickens, turkeys, peafowl, but for whatever reason I'm not allowed.
The citation says, roosters are waking neighbors; Chickens are in yard.
I don't know what to do or where to begin.
Any help is appreciated. Thanks

Unfortunately, what ever the realtor said doesn't matter, unless it's backed up by code/ordinance/local law, something. What do those say?

They have a noise ordinance, but no specific limitations on farm animals or chickens.
I have neighbors with horses, pigs, goats, fowl, anything you can imagine.
Just a noise ordinance is all they've been able to give me in writing.

What are your county/town codes?
Are you zoned for Agriculture?
Are your birds running into your neighbors yards?
Does your citation say exactly what rule your birds are breaking?
Noise, and they are going into the neighbors yard

Fencing them in so the birds aren't leaving your property and culling some/all of the roosters would probably go a long way in keeping peace with the neighbors.
Good fences make good neighbours.

Try talking to the neighbours with the other animals - maybe they also are having issues with one particular difficult neighbour also, and if so then the two of you might make a case of bullying and harassement if the one neighbour is being diffcult.